Sonic Youth expands Daydream Nation for June release

Posted April 12th, 2007 by eric

Geffen will release a two disc expansion of Sonic Youth’s seminal Daydream Nation on June 12th packed with rare pictures and bonus tracks. Seems like this should have preceeded both the Goo and Dirty deluxe reissues, but I’m not complaining. The vinyl version will be released on the band’s Goofin’ Records as a four-LP set.

According to Billboard, “Rounding out the second disc are four covers: The Beatles’ “Within You Without You” from the tribute album Sgt. Pepper new My Father, Neil Young’s “Computer Age” from The Bridge, Captain Beefheart’s “Electricity” from Fast and Bulbous and Mudhoney’s “Touch Me, I’m Sick,” which was released as a split 7-inch vinyl single with that band on Sub Pop in 1988.”

The band will also be performing the album in its entirety at a few select venues around the world this summer.

Tags: news