Beach Boys offer yet another compilation

Posted May 7th, 2007 by eric

The Warmth of the Sun is due May 22 via Capitol/EMI with 28 songs hand-picked by The Beach Boys (the ones that remain, obviously). Avoiding much of the band’s commercial side (and painful faux pas like “Kokomo”), this collection focuses on some of the more obscure, artsy tracks in The Beach Boys’ heady oeuvre, including six songs mixed in stereo for the first time. I imagine since the vault has been heavily mined over the years, new mixes are about all we can expect as far as surprises go.

An 11-episode podcast series begins tomorrow, May 8, featuring current interviews with Mike Love, Brian Wilson, Al Jardine, and Bruce Johnson, as they comment on the selected tracks.


The Warmth Of The Sun (CD and Digital Album)

1. All Summer Long (new stereo mix)

2. Catch A Wave

3. Hawaii

4. Little Honda

5. 409

6. It’s OK

7. You’re So Good To Me (new stereo mix)

8. Then I Kissed Her (new stereo mix)

9. Kiss Me, Baby

10. Please Let Me Wonder (new stereo mix)

11. Let Him Run Wild (new stereo mix)

12. The Little Girl I Once Knew

13. Wendy (new stereo mix)

14. Disney Girls (1957)

15. Forever

16. Friends

17. Break Away

18. Why Do Fools Fall In Love

19. Surf’s Up

20. Feel Flows

21. All This Is That

22. ‘Til I Die

23. Sail On, Sailor

24. Cool, Cool Water

25. Don’t Go Near The Water

26. California Saga (On My Way To Sunny Californ-i-a)

27. California Dreamin’

28. The Warmth Of The Sun

Tags: new release · news