Jesus…Elvis Costello covers Christina Aguilera for upcoming House Soundtrack

Posted August 16th, 2007 by eric

Having never met a soundtrack he wouldn’t shill for, Elvis Costello has lent his inexplicable cover of Christina Aguilera’s “Beautiful” to the House Original Television Soundtrack, which features only one decent tune: Massive Attack’s “Teardrop.” As House’s theme song,  it has always driven me absolutely crazy that Cocteau Twin Elizabeth Fraser’s vocals never kick in during the credits. Other questionable content on this wholly unnecessary soundtrack include Sarah McLaughlin’s cover of XTC’s Skylarking classic, “Dear God.” Dear God, please don’t ever let me ever hear that.

House Original Television Soundtrack is out September 18 via Nettwerk.

Track listing:

1. Massive Attack – Teardrop 
2. Gomez – See The World
3. Jon Clearly & The Absolute Monster Gentleman – Got To Be More Careful
4. Ben Harper – Waiting On An Angel
5. Michael Penn – Walter Reed
6. Elvis Costello – Beautiful
7. Joe Cocker – Feelin? Alright
8. Sarah McLachlan – Dear God
9. Josh Rouse – God, Please Let Me Go Back
10. Lucinda Williams Are You Alright?
11. Josh Ritter – Good Man
12. Band From TV – You Can’t Always Get What You Want

Tags: new release

2 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Logan Young // Aug 16, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    I bet it’s as good as Wu Tang’s cover of “While My Guitar…”. Then again, maybe not.

  • 2 Kevin Langston // Aug 16, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    Um, Lou Reed just did a CD of music to do yoga to. It could be worse.