Ride’s Nowhere Reissued by Rhino in December

Posted November 12th, 2010 by eric

As much as I resent being taken advantage of by record companies’ transparent marketing schemes, I do pony up for a reissue every now and again. News of Ride’s seminal Nowhere being given the fancy makeover by Rhino has me pulling out my Christmas list for editing. I literally wore this cassette out from over-playing it back in 1990. Pitchfork is correct in its assertion that Ride is not held in the same esteem as peers My Bloody Valentine for reasons unknown to me. I view Nowhere with equal reverence to Loveless. And I had Ride poster in my freshman dorm room, which must mean I prefer Ride overall. Anyway, the reissue will be a double disc affair, replete with the requisite remastering of the original album in addition to the Today Forever EP and a previously unreleased 1991 live show. If that’s not enough it will also come packaged with a 40-page hardcover book with an essay by critic Jim DeRogatis. In other news, Jesus God I cannot believe this album is 20 years old.

Nowhere: 20th Anniversary Edition:

CD1 (Nowhere and Today Forever):

01 Seagull
02 Kaleidoscope
03 In a Different Place
04 Polar Bear
05 Dreams Burn Down
06 Decay
07 Paralysed
08 Vapour Trail
09 Taste
10 Here and Now
11 Nowhere
12 Unfamiliar
13 Sennen
14 Beneath
15 Today

CD2 (Live at the Roxy, 1991):

01 Polar Bear
02 Seagull
03 Unfamiliar
04 Dreams Burn Down
05 Like a Daydream
06 Vapour Trail
07 In a Different Place
08 Perfect Time
09 Taste
10 Nowhere
11 Chelsea Girl
12 Drive Blind

Tags: reissue