Sonic Youth Releasing Vintage Live Set

Posted September 10th, 2012 by eric

Even though the band is being coy about its future after the marital break-up of guitarist Thurston Moore and bassist Kim Gordon, Sonic Youth has released plans for a vintage live set due out November 14, 2012. Sonic Youth’s Smart Bar – Chicago 1985 will be released via the band’s own Goofin’ imprint on double vinyl gatefold LP with download card as well as the requisite CD and digital versions. Gerard Cosloy of Matador Records will write the liner notes for the set comprised of material from the band’s summer 1985 tour in support of the then newly released Bad Moon Rising. A few early version of songs from EVOL make appearances along with live rarity “Kat ‘N’ Hat.”

On a gratuitous personal anecdotal tangent, while I was in New York City for CMJ in 1995 1994 (Thanks, Brian), I dropped by Subterranean Records to shop around. I happened to be flipping through the Sonic Youth section and picked up an original copy of Bad Moon Rising. A towering figure behind me said, “man, I think that’s a bit too pricey.” I turned around to see Thurston Moore and Mike Watt standing there laughing. I laughed nervously, too, but you know what? I bought the shit out of that overpriced copy of Bad Moon Rising anyway.

Sonic Youth – Smart Bar – Chicago 1985

1- Hallowe’en
2- Death Valley ’69
3- Intro/Brave Men Run(In My Family)
4- I Love Her All The Time
5- Ghost Bitch
6- I’m Insane
7- Kat ‘N’ Hat
8- Brother James
9- Kill Yr Idols
10- Secret Girl
11- Flower
12- The Burning Spear
13- Expressway To Yr Skull
14- Making The Nature Scene

Tags: liveshow · new release

1 response so far ↓

  • 1 Logan K. Young // Sep 10, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    Never will I tire of hearing that anecdote.