VIDEO: David Bowie “Space Oddity (2019 Mix)”

David Bowie’s estate has just released an official video to accompany the 2019 mix by longtime producer Tony Visconti of “Space Oddity,” which was Bowie’s first big hit released 50 years ago this month. To the chagrin of some fans, the footage mixes eras of Bowie’s career. This was a song that he kept in sets throughout all of his chameleonic musical and artistic shifts so to complain of the blended eras seems a bit short-sighted.

To further capitalize on the semicentennial anniversary of Bowie’s career launch, a 7″ box set has recently been issued, featuring the original mono release as well as the new 2019 mixes housed in new picture sleeves complete with a double-sided poster.

Bowie’s estate has released a glut of small-scale rarities this year but still no word on the next catalog box set, covering his musical rebound in the 1990s.

VIDEO: David Bowie “Sue (Or in a Season of Crime)”

David Bowie is one of those rare artists who’s practically impervious to criticism. When you’ve achieved as much as he has throughout a four-decade-plus spanning career you can pretty much do whatever the hell you want without worrying about sullying your legacy. With another retrospective collection to promote (Nothing Has Changed), Bowie has just released a jazz-noir new single replete with a Raymond Chandler-esque lyric video. It’s Bowie in full croon mode, but he keeps it interesting with creepy imagery: “Sue, I pushed you down beneath the weeds/Endless faith in hopeless deeds.”

David Bowie Announces Second Single from The Next Day

With his first album in a decade not out until March 12, 2013, David Bowie is already announcing his second single, “The Stars (Are Out Tonight),” which will precede the highly anticipated album, The Next Day, by two weeks. His first single, “Where Are We now?,” which sneaked up on the press without warning on Bowie’s birthday, January 8th, kicked off unprecedented buzz for new material from the long-dormant star. His past two albums were met with respectful yet uneventful press. The references in the first single to his time in Berlin have many fans hoping the new material in some way harkens back to what many consider his peak artistic period. [via The Guardian]

The Next Day tracklist:

01. The Next Day
02. Dirty Boys
03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
04. Love Is Lost
05. Where Are We Now?
06. Valentine’s Day
07. If You Can See Me
08. I’d Rather Be High
09. Boss of Me
10. Dancing Out in Space
11. How Does the Grass Grow
12. (You Will) Set the World on Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat
15. So She (bonus track)
16. I’ll Take You There (bonus track)
17. Plan (bonus track)

The Horrors Do Justice to Bowie’s “Suffragette City”

The Horrors perform an extremely capable cover of David Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust-era “Suffragette City” for Channel 4?s On Trackā€¦ program. It’s a live, in-studio take, but it sounds amazing. From the mixing to the multi-angle camera-work, this is high-budget, high-quality stuff. This band grows by leaps and bounds with every album, and it’s latest, Skying, is definitely worth your attention.

The current single, “I Can See Through You,” came out last month and is being promoted by this bizarre, visual tilt-a-whirl of a video: