Infamous Nirvana show for November release

Posted August 28th, 2009 by eric

When Nirvana played the Reading Festival at the end of August in 1992, the band hadn’t rehearsed in months, according to Charles R. Cross’ infamous Cobain biography, Heavier Than Heaven. In fact, both drummer Dave Grohl and bassist Kist Novaselic had no idea if Kurt Cobain would even show. So, when a wheelchair appeared on the side stage carrying a bedraggled-looking Cobain decked out in an inexplicable blond wig and a long white lab coat, the crowd – and his bandmates – had no idea what to expect. As soon as Cobain stood up and strapped on his guitar, the crowd erupted, and the band tore through what is now a  legendary, heavily-bootlegged set. To milk the dead cash-cow that is Nirvana even further, the powers that be at Universal will release a sanctioned and remastered version of this performance on DVD and CD on November 3, 2009. The double LP will hit stores two weeks later.

Tracklist of Nirvana Live At Reading DVD:

01 Breed
02 Drain You
03 Aneurysm
04 School
05 Sliver
06 In Bloom
07 Come as You Are
08 Lithium
09 About a Girl
10 tourette’s
11 Polly
12 Lounge Act
13 Smells Like Teen Spirit
14 On a Plain
15 Negative Creep
16 Been a Son
17 All Apologies
18 Blew
19 Dumb
20 Stay Away
21 Spank Thru
22 Love Buzz
23 The Money Will Roll Right In (Fang cover)
24 D-7 (Wipers cover)
25 Territorial Pissings

[via Pitchfork]

Tags: new release · news